Let’s try this again

I started 2015 with a characteristically overambitious attempt to resurrect this blog as a site for well-considered mini-essays on the music I heard and the movies I saw and the books I read. For a month or two, the project energized me, but the pace I’d chosen was unsustainable as a hobby, especially once the weather got nice. Rather than judiciously scale back, I kinda let the whole matter drop.

At the end of the year, I regretted it. What had 2015 sounded like to me? I scrambled around to find an answer. I realized, yet again, that to fully experience the art that matters to me, I need to commit to an opinion and force myself to justify it.

But time is tight. So in 2016, I’ll just be collecting listening notes here, bookmarking my musical impressions so I can return to them and hear where I’ve been. As an evaluative shortcut, I’m adopting the old Spin system: green means go, yellow means slow, red means no. (Don’t expect too much red though — the idea is to celebrate what rises to the top.) Mondays will be for albums (though I’m giving myself till Tuesday this week). Fridays will be for what I still call singles cuz I’m old.

In between, though, anything goes. Links to published writing (not just my own). Brief responses to books and movies. Quips and quibbles about my non-virtual lived life. Maybe even a well-considered mini-essay or two.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Craig Bickle  On February 1, 2016 at 10:37 am

    You wrote something for ‘Mother Jones’?

  • Matt Gladue  On February 1, 2016 at 2:19 pm

    Woohoo! I’ve been thinking about you lately, because I just finished Kim Gordon’s book (on tape) and I’m now listening to Carrie Brownstein’s memoir. And for the first time in a long time, I feel like writing something–a sort of comparison between the two books and what they tell us about the music. So I look forward to reading more from here!

  • usefulnoise  On February 2, 2016 at 12:18 am

    I have not read either of those yet, but I recently finished and loved Viv Albertine’s memoir. Interested to see what you wind up writing!

Leave a Reply

