When will they b paid?: The latest on the Prince estate

13344633_10154020660070033_9082580433606164359_n

As I mentioned yesterday, I attended a hearing in Prince’s probate case, and as promised, here’s my write-up on Judge Kevin Eide’s order for Billboard. I’m no expert in estate law, business law, or entertainment law, but it strikes me as a judicious balancing of interests, allowing Bremer Trust to capitalize on Prince’s IP assets without straitjacketing his heirs (whoever they may be) into long-term contractual arrangements. There’s something in the judge’s order to disappoint every party to the case, and that seems like a good sign. (Also, I’m curious what they have in mind for Paisley Park this summer.)

This is the fourth story on the Prince estate I’ve written for Billboard in the past month. If you’re interested in reading more, here’s the full saga (or at least as much of it as I’ve been the one to tell).

“Prince’s Heirs Apparent: A Look At The Siblings Who Stand To Inherit His Fortune,” May 11.

“Two Claim Share of Prince’s Estate Through Half Brother,” May 18.

“How to Prove You’re Related to Prince and How His Estate May Be Sliced Up,” June 3.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment